Sleep in EMS

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
Reaction score
This weekend, I pulled my first long week. I'm an active-duty soldier, and I work part-time in Van Horn, Texas. Despite a 5-hour sleep period between the end of my Army-mandated ball and my commute to Van Horn, I was feeling a bit tired by the end of my shift...and it didn't get any better. I took my wife to dinner (part of our working date weekend) and went to bed- only to get called out for a transfer to El Paso. Patient care wasn't an issue, but I had to rely on my partners to keep awake and my EMT drove home- and when we got toned out on arrival again, I made a documentation mistake.

I can easily see sleep deprivation becoming a major issue in my career, or in any EMS career. What do y'all do to manage your sleep?

I sleep as much as possible on shift.

Your partner was driving back, use the time to take a nap.

He was pretty tired too, we were keeping eachother awake.

15 minute safety nap.

I take a nap every afternoon I work. With a 2.5 hour turnaround per call, it doesn't take long to work up an all nighter.

I can't sleep on shift unless it's a shift that goes past 0200ish. We average 10 calls per unit per shift on 12 hr shifts. 16 hour shifts tend to have a lower call volume near EOS since dispatcher usually put that car on a post on the edge of our call area. We use a rest model that includes consecutive shifts worked (minimum of 8 hrs off between shifts), unit work hours, and reported sleep. If you fall within the 'rest deprived' parameters or if we tell a sup that we feel we cannot provider good care due to exhaustion they pull us off the unit. Full time here is 12hrsx4 days. I work per diem so I haven't had a problem. If you don't feel as though you are alert enough to provide patient care you should notify a supervisor and they *should* pull you off the unit.

Mistakes at the ALS level from exhaustion/sleep deprivation can be fatal, in a worst case scenario.

Just my 0.02