Signing your partners name on Narc cards

Status
Not open for further replies.

paragod18304

Forum Ride Along
Ok. I have been a paramedic for over 18 years and have never, ever been lazy when it came to documentation of narcotics. I have always wasted in front of my partner, I have always shown them the empty vial and the syringe that was used to push the medication. On three separate and widely spaced out times, I signed for my partner. Why would I deviate from my normal practice you might ask? I have no idea why I did it. I wish I did. Once was when we were still driving and I actually told them I did it, and they still saw me waste the medication. The second and third was because they left to go home and I forgot to have them sign. But again, they saw me waste at the end of the call. No secrets or EMT partners not knowing what I did.
Here is the dilemma: I am currently on UAL, pending the investigation. I know my partners have told the employer that those signatures were not theirs. They were not asked if they witnessed me waste the medication, although my epcr reflects the dose given and it should be searchable in pt records at the hospital as well as to what I gave. The vials were thrown away in front of them.