Scanner Lesson

Dobo

Forum Lieutenant
I know there are quite a few threads on scanners, I did the search, but my questions differs a little. Can someone teach me the basics of scanners? Does any scanner work with all police/fire/ems? or are different scanners more for different areas? If I wanted to pick up a scanner to hear local traffic what would I need? Would it work the same when I move out west?

As you can tell I am a real novice so please be patient :)

EMT007

Forum Lieutenant
I'll do my best with my limited knowledge - hopefully someone else can come and give more detail.

But basically, there is a range of radio frequencies that a scanner can pick up, which is the range that includes public safety, air traffic, etc etc. So yes, it will work nationwide, but...

Does any scanner work with all police/fire/ems?

No, different radio systems require different types of scanners. For example, if a fire department uses a trunked radio system, you need a scanner that can scan a trunked system. Basically, a trunked radio system is one that utilizes a small number of actual radio frequencies (which have to be assigned to an agency by the FCC), but allows the agency to have tons of "channels" that they can use, called talk groups.
Similarly for digital radio systems (which is what LAPD uses around where I am), you need a scanner that can handle digital transmissions (more expensive than most other scanners).

So try to figure out what type of system your local departments have (a lot of agencies post their radio frequencies online and actually encourage scanning), and get a scanner that can pick up that type of transmission.

OP
OP
D

Dobo

Forum Lieutenant
Thank you, that answered exactly what I needed to know, basically I am not going to waist my money right now on a scanner if I am moving to Alberta in a couple months. :)

marineman

Forum Asst. Chief