prom and EMS

JPINFV

Gadfly
Rid, it wouldn't surprise me if most of the students saw these programs as just extra time outside of the class room.

enjoynz

Lady Enjoynz
We have very strong 'Don't drink and drive' adverts on T.V. here,
as well as programs in the schools.
But I feel that until the youth gets it into they head that:

"It's never going to happen to me!" Should be, "Who says it's not?"
"I'm a good driver" Should be, "But maybe not as good as I think!"
"I'm alright to drive!" should be "Have I had my blood alcohol tested to prove that!"
"He's my best friend, I trust his driving" should be "I've seen him drinking all night, I'll suggest we call a taxi or parent"
Or the fact that they think that they are invincible! Should be, No you are not Superman/Superwoman!

I can't see it happening any time soon. But in the perfect world it would be nice, and make our jobs a little easier.

Cheers Enjoynz

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
I agree. I'm a mother of two boys in their early 20's and both of them commented on how 'lame' the presentations were. They will affect those who already were going to be careful and they will not even touch those who really need the message.

Think back, for some of us...waaaaaa aaay back, to our teen years. Who were the kids who died in wrecks from our youth? We probably all knew someone who died in a drinking related wreck, even if it wasn't a close friend. Was there anything, anyone could have said or done to stop them from doing what they did that night? I don't think there is.

My boys have, as far as I know been pretty aware and fairly conservative in their behaviors. I don't know how much of that has to do with parenting and how much has to do with the jobs their parents hold, but I'm sure a large portion has to do with dumb luck. So I just keep my four leaf clover on my lucky rabbit's foot keychain!

EMTrigger

Forum Probie