Precordial Thumps

Ethanol4all

Forum Probie
Hey, I'm a newly licensed SoCal EMT-B...... and I never really heard of it in class .....but are Precordial Thumps CPR protocol? and are they proven to actually work?

SwissEMT

Forum Lieutenant
I've heard of a three stories where they worked.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
PreCordial Thumps, produce 0.4 joules of electrical shock. They have proven to work very effective in certain conditions and settings. AHA has removed PCT due to the advantage of having AED, and defibrillators that can deliver enough joules to convert rhythms such as V-Tach an V-Fib. It was removed because idiots was performing it incorrectly and as well patients were not being monitored prior. It is NOT part of the Basic or general Health Provider BLS criteria.

It can be used when the patient is on ECG monitor and defibrillation is not imminently available. Now these days is unusual to have a patient monitored and not have some form of defib readily available. Most ACLS courses no longer even address PCT or "fist pacing" (Which is repeatedly PCT), for brady rhythms until a pace maker can be placed. Yes, they worked and was used until better technology was available.

R/r 911

Last edited by a moderator:

Airwaygoddess

Forum Deputy Chief
"RAMPART, THIS IS SQUAD 51 !"

Summit

Critical Crazy
Do you think there are there wilderness applications for PCT in unmonitored patients in situations where neither AED nor monitor is going to show up in the next 30 min or 2hrs?

firecoins

IFT Puppet
yes, it can be used in that situation

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Actually, it used to be recommended that an witnessed cardiac arrest receive a PCT while getting an monitor/defib ready. If they are truly pulseless, what is it going to hurt?

Now with said, * I am not responsible for breaking protocols, injuries sustained, etc... etc..

R/r 911

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief