Post Incident Response, an Organizational Approach

John B

Forum Ride Along
Hello all,

My name is John and I am looking for advice, input or general suggestions concerning a project myself and a colleague are currently trying to get off of the ground at our service. I apologize in advance if this initial post is a little wordy, but I want to provide as much background as I can to elicit a good discussion. I also want to thank you in advance for any assistance with this project.

A little background about myself and the service I work for. I am a critical care paramedic (FP-C, CCEMTP), Field Training Officer and SWAT medic for a large metropolitan service. Our service area is approximately 300 square miles, servicing the gamut of urban, suburban and rural communities. We average approximately 60,000 calls for service per year, not including wheelchair, BLS and critical care transfers. We primarily operate in a medic-medic capacity due to legislative mandates in the county we serve. Our ground critical care units are staffed with an RN and CC medic. These numbers only represent our metro division; we also have out state divisions that service more rural outlying communities throughout the state, as well as a 7 ship rotor wing division that performs both scene flights and inter-facility transports that services a large portion of the state. Our metro division (where I work) currently employs approximately 150 wheelchair drivers, EMT's medics and nurses. We are a hospital-owned system, and that hospital is Level 1 trauma center, comprehensive stroke center and has multiple other Level 1 designations.