OPA with overdose?

sleepy

Forum Probie
I'm studying for NREMT. This sample question says your patient overdosed on Valium and is unconscious. Their answer is to put him in lateral recumbent position to protect his airway, instead of inserting an OPA which I thought was correct. I know you don't insert OPA when something like drain cleaner was ingested, but you avoid it for pills too? Doesn't make sense to me. Or what is their reason?

feldy

Forum Captain
with an OD, i wouldnt use an OPA, i would go with the NPA because of the high chance that if pt. wakes up then they are gonna vomit and as long as youre not assisting ventilations go with latteral recumbant.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Ten points

Rule of thumb is do the most with the least chance of harm.
Rule of Exam: say what they want and ask on EMTLIFE what they mean.;)

IF trismus is a potential (not with a benzodiazepine like Valium), then yeah, get an OPA in. Otherwise, suction and ventilation can be a problem.

Porkchop

Forum Crew Member
with an OD, i wouldnt use an OPA, i would go with the NPA because of the high chance that if pt. wakes up then they are gonna vomit and as long as youre not assisting ventilations go with latteral recumbant.

+1. In EMT school, I was taught never to use an OPA with an overdose.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
We had a mixed OD (Elavil, Neurontin, and whatever else he could get)..

Wished we could have gotten an OPA in place (we don't have tubes) before trismus set in and he was drooling. Snaked a Yankauer tip in one buccal side and turned him in that side, but it mostly wanted to suck off his buccal mucosa, not the slime.

MrBrown

Forum Deputy Chief
If somebody has OD'd on benzos the only thing I wouldn't be using is flumazinil!

Don't see the reason not to use an OPA if they wake up and don't tolerate it take it out, if the throw up, take it out.

VentMedic

Forum Chief
If somebody has OD'd on benzos the only thing I wouldn't be using is flumazinil!