Onslow County EMS; Jacksonville NC; Coastal Carolina Communty College

dkbrett22

Forum Ride Along
I’m an EMT from CT looking to relocate Jacksonville North Carolina. I’d like to land a gig as an emt for Onslow County EMS and also want to attend the next medic program out of coastal Carolina communty college that’s in Jacksonville. Can anyone shed some light on working for Onslow County EMS or what the medic program is like at coastal?

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
From: http://www.onslowcountync.gov/793/Emergency-Medical-Services

"Currently we have 76 full time and 20 part time employees who are dedicated to the highest quality of care. We provide a 100% paramedic level service augmented by a volunteer Basic EMT and Advanced Rescue service. "

Pre-Employment Requirements

• NC Paramedic certification (or ability to obtain reciprocity)

OP
OP
D

dkbrett22

Forum Ride Along
Well that’s a bummer. Any idea of a paid bls service in this area? Also have you heard anything about the medic program in Jacksonville?

DrParasite

honestly, no clue. I've never been to jacksonville, except for driving through it on the way to the beach.

Why are you so set on the jacksonville medic program? or more accurately, why are you moving to jacksonville? And even more accurately, would you be open to moving to other parts of NC instead, ones that hire EMTs for 911 services?

This is probably one of the better EMS careers sites in NC. https://news.ncems.org/employment

OP
OP
D

dkbrett22

Forum Ride Along
We wanted to move by the coast in nc. Jacksonville seems to be the only medic program I can find along the coast that’s 16 months. I want to find a program that I can get through asap. 2 year programs sound horrible to me. So I’d be open to other suggestions for medic programs along the coast? Paid Emt jobs along the coast? I’m not familiar with nc at all. It’s a new adventure for us.

DrParasite

1) check out that website, many jobs are listed there.