On line Paramedic Study Guides

Crepitus

Forum Crew Member
I realize this has been discussed a dozen plus times (and more) but I am curious for those of you who have recently taken the NREMT Paramedic CBT and used an online study program/course would you share your thoughts with me. I recently tried the Prentiss Hall version (EMTAchieve I believe) and found it to be so unsatisfactory that I sought a refund from the company, (which they did promptly give by the way).

For those who will be along promptly encouraging me to review my text or class notes or read the DOT curriculum, I do appreciate that advice. It's been 20 years since I graduated from my paramedic class. I lapsed a number of years ago when I retired. I am seeking reinstatement in my state under a challenge provision so that I can volunteer in a small community.

While I believe I was a competent field medic and can still contribute, I need to bring myself up to speed. I've completed the refresher training, but I am finding that it was more I-99 oriented. I am good to go on ACLS and the bulk of the day to day ALS type questions, but don't feel strong on the more complex stuff.

Questions like how does D-50 and insulin work in Crush Syndrome, heart sounds, in depth 12 lead questions, steroid treatment of asthma etc are things that have either changed since I left or I was never exposed to for one reason or another.

Consequently, I feel compelled to do quite a bit of extra self study, thus am looking for a quality online study guide set up to help me see what I missing and prompt to return to the texts for the details.

Thanks much,

Crepitus

daedalus

Forum Deputy Chief
I am glad you are deciding to brush up before hitting the field again. To really get your mind into the new paramedic model, I recommend this book:
http://www.amazon.com/Paramedic-Pat...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1253148818&sr=8-1