Need Some Guidance

MariaCatEMT

Forum Asst. Chief
Hey everyone, hi, long time no post for me......been busy. Update on Firefighter II Mods.....I passed MOD B as well....MOC C is next month.....and just took a farm rescue and extrication class (fun!).

Now to my issue....those of you that know me know I am an EMT-Basic with a non-transport volunteer BLS fire department, so I don't have much street experience, a little is all. I've been an EMT for a year and a half. I'm a monitor tech on the cardiac floor at one of our local hospitals here (again to those of you that helped me with rhythm interpretation, thanks). My supervisor at the hospital, unbeknownst to me, set some things in motion to try and help me into paramedic school. Here in our community the usual route was only those with ALS agencies could go.....she is throwing her rather respected name (she used to be a flight nurse and is the director of the cardiac floor) out there on my behalf to sponser me thru paramedic school (I did not ask her to do this).....and I'm not even sure I meet requirements? Educationally? I will find out more Friday......

Were I to meet requirements.....and actually get in.....should I consider NOT accepting this because I lack street experience? I am chewing on a rather large bone of doubt right now.....and would appreciate guidance. Thanks.

Summit

Critical Crazy
My feeling on that is that if P is a path you would like to follow, some experience is better than none and you shouldn't waste an opportunity that would be very hard for you to obtain again. But then I'm not a P.

emtbuff

Forum Captain
Well this is coming from an EMT B and nursing student. I think that if you are interested in becoming a paramedic I would jump on the chance. I would say that if you have had some experience is better than no experience and that if you really want to do it hten you should do just fine. Hope this helps but I am sure that others will have some better advise. ;)

Wingnut

EMS Junkie