Need help!

1Rodneyk

Forum Ride Along
I am a EMT student and last night did a clinical at a local ER. A doctor had me cutting off dead skin from a burn patient. I did this for about an hour and a half. After about 15 mins. into the process my stomach started to feel queezy. Here's my question: can I make a good EMT/Paramedic since this was my reaction. I've seen some bad stuff before and never had this reaction. What do I make of it? I'm really starting to question my abilities. Thanks in advance.

Rodney

firecoins

IFT Puppet
Your not going to be doing that in the field. Don't worry about that. That is out side our scope of practise.

I have had call where a patient was vomiting and that made me feel like vomiting. Its natural.

FF/EMT Sam

Forum Lieutenant
Virtually all of us have something that turns our stomachs a little bit. For many people, it's broken teeth, limbs that look curved because of broken bones, breaking ribs during CPR (my personal nemesis), or things moving under the skin (yuck!). You just have to brace yourself and carry on.

You mentioned that you did it for over an hour without losing your lunch, so you're probably ok, especially since you won't be doing this in the field anyway.

firecoins

IFT Puppet
your fine.

DT4EMS

Kip Teitsort, Founder
I am a EMT student and last night did a clinical at a local ER. A doctor had me cutting off dead skin from a burn patient. I did this for about an hour and a half. After about 15 mins. into the process my stomach started to feel queezy. Here's my question: can I make a good EMT/Paramedic since this was my reaction. I've seen some bad stuff before and never had this reaction. What do I make of it? I'm really starting to question my abilities. Thanks in advance.

Rodney