National Registry/ AMR

z_14k

Forum Ride Along
Hey everyone, I am new to this thread, sorry if it has been posted before. But does anyone know if you have to have your national registry to apply for AMR in Alameda County? I live in Alameda county, I have both my county card as well as my national registry, but it expires this March.

I do not plan to live outside the state if that helps..

thanks everyone!

Aidey

Community Leader Emeritus
Have you checked AMRs website?

You may also want to look on CAs EMS website and find out if they require NREMT to get a CA certification.

OP
OP
Z

z_14k

Forum Ride Along
I looked at the AMR website and it says nothing about it, but I will probably have to call the, I did not check CAs website yet, so I will try that, thanks for the help aidey, I appreciate it.

JPINFV

Gadfly
In California, you need NREMT for initial certification but not recertification. While, yes, when in doubt, contact both your county EMSA and AMR, but I can't think of an example in So Cal where an ambulance company requires any extra certifications beyond what is needed to do the job.

SuaSponte

Forum Probie
Yes you do.

The answer is yes, I have the packet in my hand. I can't find a link for you but below is the mins for EMT-P, EMT-B will have similar req's. Although it says current state cert - they want to know you passed the NREMT as well...

Minimum Qualifications

High school diploma or equivalent (GED).
Must be at least 18 years of age.
Possess a valid State Driver’s License.
Current state or National Registry Paramedic Certification.
Current BCLS, ACLS, PALS, BTLS OR PHTLS Provider Certification.
Driving record in compliance with AMR policy regarding insurability.
Some advanced education preferred. Some past work experience, preferably in healthcare desired.
Effective oral, written and interpersonal communication skills.

OP
OP
Z

z_14k

Forum Ride Along