Name the Rhythm

mikeylikesit

Candy Striper
Ok so here is the first installment of a game that is called name the rhythm. i thought it would be fun to do this as a game posting on Sunday and posting the answer on fridays. i would like it if we could trade off on sundays on who posts the rhythm. i see that a lot of people get into these on the site and would like to keep it going. so basically give a short description of the pt and vitals if available. i'll lead by example good luck. This is a 12 lead electrocardiogram from a 70 year old man with chest pain and palpitations on exertion. The patient was implanted with a Russian pacemaker 7 years ago for bradycardia.
ecgaf2.gif

fma08

Forum Asst. Chief
since there's no "boxes" on there, can we get PRI, QRS duration, and such measurements? (yes i am a newbie, i still need to see some of that stuff)

DBieniek

Forum Crew Member
I'm not a paramedic, but based on the tent shaped T wave I'll throw hyperkalemia out there? ^_^

OP
OP
mikeylikesit

mikeylikesit

Candy Striper
Rate (/min)75--QT (ms)398--pr (ms)169--QRS axis (degrees)444---QRS (ms)84

fma08

Forum Asst. Chief
well i'll be the first one to sound like an idiot... was thinking some sort of junctional first off due to inverted p waves... but the pri is kinda long... so i wouldn't think there'd be such a thing as 1'st degree block accelerated junctional... yeah the t's are peaked so probably some electrolyte imbalances there, is it a demand pacer? i'm seein some depression in I, aVL, V3 and V4. Pt. was asymptomatic at rest i take it? SOB? N/V? general weakness?

OP
OP
mikeylikesit

mikeylikesit

Candy Striper