Moral/Ethical Limits of Scene Safety

EMTBHillbilly

Forum Probie
I'm a newbie here so please excuse my ignorance.
I'm just wondering why this forum was closed for 24 hours. It seemed as if there was a constructive discussion going on about EMS duty in rescue situations. Is a little disagreement on issues not allowed?
Just asking.

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
I'm a newbie here so please excuse my ignorance.
I'm just wondering why this forum was closed for 24 hours. It seemed as if there was a constructive discussion going on about EMS duty in rescue situations. Is a little disagreement on issues not allowed?
Just asking.

Disagreement is allowed as long as it remains polite and civil. Since there were comments posted that can be construed as being impolite (Im glad I'm not on your ambulance), and it was starting to get off topic (military scene safety vs civilian), this thread was closed for 24 hours to allow for a cool off period and to allow it to get back on topic.

Last edited by a moderator:

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
They appear to be using the excuse of "I'm just an EMT or a Paramedic, there is no way I could ever be expected to or actually safely carry out a rescue". Almost as if they are better than that which is really sad.
I don't believe anyone actually said that. what they said was "I'm just an EMT/Paramedic, if there is an unsafe scene, let those who are trained and equipped to mitigate said unsafe scene do so, before I let my untrained and unequipped attempt to get involved, where I have a high likelihood of not helping or even worse adding to the incident when I get hurt."

I don't want any of my coworkers get hurt because they tried to enter an unsafe scene and got burned. I also don't want to be the *** who does something equally stupid and tries to help said coworker get out of said unsafe situation (although I probably would).