Medical Control

Genesis

Forum Probie
I am an EMT-B student (just started a few weeks ago) and my book doesn't do a good job of explaining medical control.

When we call medical control, who exactly are we contacting? The ER Physician? Is there someone specifically designated as medical control? Where are they? Also, does this differ between EMS systems?

Sorry about all the questions...just want to understand it better.

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
I am an EMT-B student (just started a few weeks ago) and my book doesn't do a good job of explaining medical control.

When we call medical control, who exactly are we contacting? The ER Physician? Is there someone specifically designated as medical control? Where are they? Also, does this differ between EMS systems?

Sorry about all the questions...just want to understand it better.

Usually an Attending Physician or a Resident, if not our own medical director (depending on circumstance). For instance, if my protocols say that I am allowed to give up to x amount of a pain med, yet I believe another dose is needed, I would contact online medical control, state my case to the physician, and wait for him to either say go ahead or no.

Medical control is pretty much the same nationwide in EMS systems, the only thing that differs are the protocols and the scope. For the most part, we all contact either an attending or a resident in the receiving hospital.

JPINFV

Gadfly
Yes it differs and the answer as to who you're talking to is "it depends on the system."

OP
OP
Genesis

Genesis

Forum Probie
Usually an Attending Physician or a Resident, if not our own medical director (depending on circumstance). For instance, if my protocols say that I am allowed to give up to x amount of a pain med, yet I believe another dose is needed, I would contact online medical control, state my case to the physician, and wait for him to either say go ahead or no.