Knifes

ertech

Forum Probie
I am in the market for a new knife.I am new to a 911 service and am in need of some recommendations.I don't want to spend to much money,for the the fear of loosing it.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I'd go with a nice pair of trauma shears. Or if you must spend money for another item to carry, the benchmade rescue hook.

TraprMike

Forum Lieutenant
choosing a knife isn't that easy.. what do you plan on cutting? what would a knife do that trauma siccors or a seat belt cutter won't do? how about a multi-tool? always use the pliers to open O2 tanks when the knob is missing.

if you need a knife, you want a very sharp one so you dont' have to be sawing around a Pt. but I wouldn't be doing that anyway. how about a folding box cutter? I have a Gerber model. uses replacable blades. it doubles as a money clip. aluminum body,light, and most importantly it's small.

C.T.E.M.R.

Forum Lieutenant
i saw a rescue knife online, with a blade window point and seat belt cutter all built in

ADKMedic

Forum Probie
Multiple options

Everyone here is offering good advice. If you are just starting out a decent pair of trauma shears makes a great basic tool. They cut almost everything and some of them also offer notches in the handle to turn O2 tank valves. Usually they can also be bought on the cheap which is great if you are like me and leave things behind as souvenirs.

Unless you plan on cutting a lot of rope I would steer clear of serrated blades. They are a bear to sharpen and tend to hang up in some materials. And TraprMike is correct you want your blade to be very sharp. Most "tactical/EMS" blades are partially serrated and offer what they think is the best of both worlds. I am not sure that is true.

Remember you will be holding the knife in a gloved hand, so if you are looking at a folding knife the blade needs to be easy to open with a large thumb stud or similar device. And a locking blade is a MUST.