I did something dumb

Righteous

Forum Probie
I had a patient with an O2 sat ranging from 82 to 89. I didn't give him any o2, very stupid. At the time my reasoning was

That he was talking to me.
That his respirations were 18
I asked him if he felt short of breath and he said no.

Looking back at the vitals after the transport it finally dawned on me.
My last place of work was laid back and I picked up some bad habits. Its no excuse though because I passed. National registry and I'm an emt I. I know that patients get o2 at any sat below 95. Hell I was thinking it as I was talking to him.

That mistake will never happen again. Guess I let non emergency transport make me lax. I just had to get this off my chest. Lol the look on the faces of whoever reads my pcr. This has to be onef my dumber emt moments.

Sasha

Forum Chief
Don't depend on the O2 sat to tell you how your patient is doing. If breathing is unlabored, coloring is good, mental status is good, patient's not complaining of SOB I don't necessarily take the SpO2 to heart. It CAN be wrong. I have gotten readings in the low 80s because of cold hands or nail polish.

You can always OFFER O2, but if a patient is not SOB they are likely not to take it.

Was he obese? google Pickwickian syndrome/obesity hypoventilation syndrome, very interesting stuff. Normal for them to have low SpO2!

Last edited by a moderator:

Tincanfireman

Airfield Operations
That he was talking to me.
That his respirations were 18
I asked him if he felt short of breath and he said no.

Treat the patient, not the box; there's a zillion reasons to explain an indicated low SPO2, and for all the reasons you listed above there's a better than even chance he was doing just fine without it. That said, it's good that you critique yourself and look for ways to improve your patient care. Kudos to you for that!

VentMedic

Forum Chief