Hyperkalemia Call Review

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
I'll start off by saying I'm a fairly new paramedic, so this was quite a finding for me, and I thought it was an interesting call. Hopefully someone else will enjoy it.

Responded for an unconcious person. Found a 32 year old male concious on his bed. Reported to have had a syncopal episode and is complaining of SOB for the past day. Room air SPO2 was 66% per the BLS crew on scene who applied a NRB.

HX: mi, Htn, DM, CHF, ESRD, dialysis

Vitals:
Bp: 130/80
Hr: 80
Spo2: 90% on 15lpm
BGL: 30

Upon placing the patient on the monitor I noticed the rhythm below. I sent a 12-lead to the hospital. EKG indicated AMI, but I consulted online medical control and told them I believed it to be hyperkalemia, and they concured. They have orders for Bicarb. I never got a line, so I couldn't give meds, but I gave oral glucose. The hospital gave insulin, d50 albuterol, bicarb and calcium gluconate. We all watched him convert to sinus tach.

It was a good call, even though I didn't end up doing much.

739978f9685260f79f717c7c99a1e8e1.jpg

578ec5d2840990db559db2ce11a25fd1.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

VentMonkey

Family Guy
The hospital gave insulin, d50 albuterol, bicarb and calcium gluconate. We all watched him convert to sinus tach.
This is the standard course for severely hyperkalemic ESRD and/ or diabetics; good learning experience it sounds like though.

Oftentimes they're extremely sick, and I would be hard pressed not to ask for Calcium Chloride order over bicarb.

OP
OP
NPO

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
This is the standard course for severely hyperkalemic ESRD and/ or diabetics; good learning experience it sounds like though.

Oftentimes they're extremely sick, and I would be hard pressed not to ask for Calcium Chloride order over bicarb.
Yeah, I'm frustrated that I was unable to get vascular access to get treatment started, although I could've started albuterol.

VentMonkey

Family Guy