Hey, I'm new here

predestinedwarrior

Forum Ride Along
Hey, this is my first time posting on this forum. I'm new to a volunteer squad in Edison. I am not an EMT though, I'm a "cadet."

I took basic CPR, first aid, Osha and had an ambulance orientation, but I feel I'm still under trained. I responded to my first transport call (an MVA) where we had 3 pediatrics and an adult. We backboarded the adult and one kid, while the other two kids rode in pediatric seats. At the scene, a cadet my age and myself were very lost... I didn't even know how to use the stretcher! (after the call an EMT showed me...) (sidenote: what kinda knot do you need to tie a cravat to a backboard)
anyways, are there any websites or books I can read to further orient myself?

thank you :)

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
First welcome to the site and to EMS.
I hope you do not perceive my statement as slanderous or belittling, it is not directly personal to you by any means. Yes, you are way under-trained to be on a EMS unit. Why would any EMS service place anyone not at least the level of an EMT on a ambulance? Even the Basic EMT level is debatable for minimal training to be on an EMS unit.

In regards to a knot, I have not seen cravats used on a LSB for over 25 years!. I would hope they would have straps to secure patients with appropriate padding to ensure snugness, padding, and proper immobilization. Cravats these days are shorter, and definitely made of weaker material that could cause breakage and potentially have horrible outcome.

I suggest as I do to all starting out, get into a well developed EMS program. If you are really interested in EMS, then take applied science courses such as a real anatomy and physiology course, learn the body in detail then take a formal EMT course that has a lengthy clinical portion.

I wish you the best as you enter the EMS field, and again welcome to the site!

R/r 911

rgnoon

Forum Lieutenant
Welcome predestinedwarrior!