Hello to all

netcarepara

Forum Ride Along
Howzit guys and girls. I am a paramedic in cape town south africa and found this forum to be educational, and it will be nice to meet you all and get to know bout you and your experiences. cheers and hope to hear from all ya!

Jay114

Forum Crew Member
Welcome to you! One of the best things about this forum is that folks are from so many different places. I look forward to hearing any stories or thoughts from you as well!

Asclepius

Forum Lieutenant
Greetings. I think it would be fascinating to hear about how things work in EMS in Africa. I am sure it is very different than the U.S.

For instance, do you have different levels of prehospital training like we do here? Basic, Intermediate, Paramedic? What does your training consist of? Do you function under the supervision of a medical director as we do here? Is Capetown an English province or African?

OP
OP
N

netcarepara

Forum Ride Along
Greetings. I think it would be fascinating to hear about how things work in EMS in Africa. I am sure it is very different than the U.S.

For instance, do you have different levels of prehospital training like we do here? Basic, Intermediate, Paramedic? What does your training consist of? Do you function under the supervision of a medical director as we do here? Is Capetown an English province or African?

Howzit, I don't know to much of the EMS structures in Africa as such as the various countries are exceptionally different in there skills and extent of service provision. In South Africa we operate with the three tiers of care as you have described. BLS is a basic qualification taking about 5 weeks full time covering basic anatomy and physiology, it focuses attention on CPR, and basic assessments. they are able to administer O2, activated charcoal, Entonox, Glucogel. They are supervised practice and generally supervised by ILS or ALS.