Foreigners taking a paramedic course in USA or Canada

Sr Dingdong

Forum Crew Member
I am interested in studying to become a paramedic in the US or Canada. I am Norwegian, and I have some years experience as an EMT here.

I presume that every now and then you have foreigners taking paramedic courses, so maybe someone here are familiar with how they are doing it?

How long time would it take me to finish a paramedic course?

How are the possibilities for paramedic jobs in the US, or alternative jobs, like oil rigs, on a boat, or other positions where they would hire a paramedic or someone with experience from ambulance work?

I hope someone knows something about this

Thanks

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
You can apply to individual provinces and states for recognition of prior learning and then go through the process of upgrading your education.... you will need to get a student visa. Training can be as little as a few months to 3 years depending on where you go, quality of program, wether you want a degree and what country you go to. This process can be very long and expensive before even setting foot in a classroom.

Getting a job is the hardest part. Just because you graduate and license in an area means nothing. Without work authorization you cannot even volunteer. I am Canadian and went EMT through degree Paramedic in the USA ..... Plus additional education and training in the USA and Canada. I was able to license in Canada as the program I went to was considered equivalent to Canadian training.

Scott33

Forum Asst. Chief
Getting a job is the hardest part. Just because you graduate and license in an area means nothing. Without work authorization you cannot even volunteer.

Although even the offer of a job does not guarantee a visa in which to take up employment. Many employers, and many more potential employees, are completely unaware of this. This is particularly true for the lower skilled jobs which includes EMS.

OP
OP
S

Sr Dingdong