First responders not providing any Pt care

BenndaleEMT

Forum Ride Along
I am an EMT-B, I work for an ambulance company part time, and I first respond with the local Vol FD. What can you do about other FR that love to respond in their POV with their lights flashing, only to get on scene and not do any Pt care? It seems they want to "be seen" and look all important to the community, but they are either not confident in their skills or they have other underlying issues. I have arrived on scene after one FR and he just stands there in the way, and one time he talked a Pt out of O2 when the CC was a 72 y/o fall with back and leg pain. Several of the Paramedics have had issues such as the FR not even opening an airway on a SOB Pt that was in the Tripod pos.

I have discussed this issue more than one time with the FR President with no reslove.

I feel if you respond to the call, at least take a BP, Pulse and SAMPLE/OPQRST so you can give the Paramedic a head start.
-Bandit

Veneficus

Forum Chief
Is bad care better than no care?

It's probably best if you give this person way more lights on the POV and give him a fancy title like: chief of traffic control.

That way you still have a giant beacon that shows you where to go instead of squinting to read an address. (sometimes called the automatic scene locator)

by giving him this critical duty, it will help keep him away from a patient. In the interest of scene safety maybe encourage him to do a walk around the property looking for hazards before attending a patient.

If you are this concerned about his ability would you really trust any findings that he may present?

Might be good to leave your cot in the truck, that way you can also dub him: "chief stretcher fetcher" and keep sending him to the truck for stuff to keep him out of the way.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
If it's simply a matter of not comfortable with his skills, then have him get worked with to increase his confidence with his abilities.