First day of clinical hours - saw a murder and need advice on how to detach from the situation

ems96

Forum Ride Along
Hey everyone,
I'm currently an EMT student and yesterday I had my first experience in the field, riding with the paramedics for my clinical hours.
We had three calls for elderly patients, but right towards the end of the shift we got a call for a gun shot wound. When the medics got the call, they told me it was up to me if I wanted to go since they weren't sure if I would be ready for something like that on my first day. Since I wanted to get as much experience as I possibly could, I went right ahead and joined them.
When we got there, we found out from the police that she's most likely dead. We got into the house and walked up the stairs. I was expected to see her in bed for some reason only to look down and see her lifeless body laying on the floor of her bedroom. The medics performed an EKG and to be honest I could not stop looking at her body. She was shot in the head. I stayed for most of the time, but after a while the smell of cigarette smoke and something else I'm not sure what it was, just made me sick and I had to leave.
I didn't think it bothered me, but today I saw everything on the news and found it was her wife that shot and killed her.
Now, I just can't stop picturing every part of her lifeless body in my head and what could have happened to make some do that to somebody.
They showed her picture in the news, and I can't stop thinking how different and lifeless she looked when I saw her on the scene compared to the smiling pictures of her they showed on the news.
I was just hoping some of you could give me some advice on how to detach myself from something like this, especially when it was only the fourth call I've ever been on. I really appreciate anyone who reads this, I know it's long, but I could really use any advice.

SandpitMedic

Crowd pleaser
You'll either be able to get over it or you won't.