Ethics/Liability in EMS

rugrat

Forum Crew Member
Hey guys,

So I am in college, and for my rhetoric and research class I am writing a 12pg persuasive essay on "ethics and liability in EMS."

More to the point as I am an EMT now (well somewhat... still need a job... :sad: ) I see stories and occurrences differently. For instance when a friend is reading a story about "x ems person does this" and they can't believe it. I know the other side and the legal ramifications of actions, laws involved, and protocol (plus we are all humans!).

I feel like (which means you guys must feel more so!) that most people don't realize the daily stresses, factors, protocols, laws etc. that go into play on scene. Mostly obviously because they are not in EMS (this goes with any field or specialty I suppose). So my aim is to show this perspective. To show that EMS work hard and have a lot of challenges that they face.

Now I know most likely only a few classmates, my professor, and possibly some others will read this, but I am also writing it for myself. I am researching and pondering these issues, because I know I will soon be on the field (looking for a job currently) and will be dealing with these things.

Anyways so far I have been able to find TONS of "academic" sources (My university has an awesome database available for use) but I also think it would be awesome to put in some real stories, thoughts, and experiences from the men and women who are out working in it everyday. I have been privileged to be able to read your guys posts for a long time now and I have enjoyed the learning (and the fun!). I know a lot o you guys were the pioneers of this field, many of you have decades (or many years) of experience, and with all of that I know you guys have some thoughts.