EMT Student(s) and stress

HelpmeHelpyou

Forum Crew Member
Thursday we had skills testing on Medical/Trauma assessments. Well for 2 weeks I studied those 2 sheets, if some of your are familiar with, it might be different in other areas. Well I could say them in my sleep verbally, I would even in practice skills testing days at school well verbalized everything even using proper terms and trust me, SOUNDING superior compared to my peers and even actually visually assessing the dummy by showing I was inspecting and palpating everything. I had those sheets memorized like I did it everyday.

Come test day, I totally choke on my Trauma assessment and Medical assessment I did awesome. I failed Trauma the first time around and had to retest and then I passed. I Failed Trauma because I totally skipped the skin color, temperature, and condition of the patient. Which would have been cool,pale and moist or diaphoretic, in which case you treat him for shock then continue to the patients transport decision and then down the sheet.

How do some of you EMT students or more skillful EMT's do this in class with all your peers watching? The instructor told me, because I was so frustrated with myself for locking up and failing the first try, forgetting not doing a complete circulation process which is a critical criteria and automatic fail if missed. He said I did very well and sounded great using medical terms saying stuff like "inspecting and palpating the posterior thorax and asculating for lungs sounds" etc.. not only verbilized but actually did it compared to most other students who just sat there and barely touched the dummies and passed. I dont get it and thats kinda frustating me to.