EMT-B Web Enhanced

syizzle

Forum Ride Along
Hi, everyone this is my first time posting on this board. I'm here to ask if anyone has taken the EMT-B Web Enhanced course and if so how hard is it. The class is most online and you meet every Saturday from 9am to 5pm to do the practical stuff. The reason I am going to take the web enhanced class is because I am going to school full time and I work part time as a personal trainer. I want to be an EMT because it will give me a preview of how the medical field looks and it will hopefully help me get into medical school.

Now I am a pre-med at my school and my major is Exercise and Sport Science. This semester I am going to be taking Physics and Chemistry together along with some other gen ed classes. I just don't want to take to much at once and hurt my grades since in need to maintain a good GPA. I have taken Anatomy and Physiology separately and I have also taken Injury and Illness and made good grades in all of them. So if anyone has any advice please feel free to reply asap because I have to register for the class soon.

Oh yea and I live in North Carolina too.

jrm818

Forum Captain
I haven't taken the web-based course, or any online course for that matter. In general, though, I'd say you should not expect to spend any less time on the course than you would in a traditional classroom course. Self-study simply replaces lecture. The EMT-B course itself is not hard (basic, as the name implies), but it does take some time to complete successfully.

Physics and chemistry can be very hard, depending on what versions of the classes you are taking. They are also much more important to your medical school application than being an EMT-B.

It sounds to me like you are overstretching yourself. You already have a part time job - when are you going to work as an EMT? My advice would be not to take the class unless you wanted to work as an EMT, and to do so independent of applying to medical school.