EMS Law Question

diver989

Forum Ride Along
Dear Fellow providers,

I need some help with a question.

Can an EMT or Paramedic be held responsible, by their employer/ agency, for loss of reimbursements for patient care for failing to produce a PCR in a timely/ billable time frame? If there is any information out there, please list it for me or send it to me via a PM.

Thank you all for your help!!!!

Bill
diver989

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Welcome to EMTLife!

What do you mean exactly by held responsible? As an EMT I knew that a completed PCR signed by a doctor was my responsibility. I forgot on occasion and was written up for it.

Could you be disciplined? Absolutely.

We really need more specific details though. What is the situation? I hope that helps.

OP
OP
D

diver989

Forum Ride Along
I am looking to see if there has been any attempt to hold a care giver responsible by their employer for a loss of reimbursement for failing to complete the PCR and having it billed accordingly.

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
From what I understand from workplace law, an employer can include in your job description a requirement to fill out PCRs in a timely manner-- for several reasons (they dont need to mention them). If you found not to be "doing your job" but not fulfilling that portion of the description, they can punish you. Other then that, I dont know.
What was the specific situation?

Flight-LP

Forum Deputy Chief
Do you mean financially responsible? Your employer can discipline you as it is a general requirement of the job to complete your patient reports. You should complete all reports prior to the end of your shift.

There is not a "statue of limitations" so to speak for most insurances. The exception is usually Medicaid which allows for 60-120 days depending on the state.