EMS degree to Medical School

msaver

Forum Ride Along
Alright, I am considering going into EMS as a career medic rather than just being a basic volunteer. I have a desire to get a degree in Emergency Health Sciences if I do this. However, I am afraid that I will become unsatisfied as just a paramedic and want to go on and get my MD. If I get my BS in emergency health sciences is it possible to get into a medical school? does a bs in ehs have everything needed to get into a med school?

JPINFV

Gadfly
You're going to need a year of chemistry, year of organic chemistry, year of biology, and a year of physics for most places. Throw in a year of humanities, year of math (calculus or calc and statistics) and a biochem course and you'll probably cover the rest.

firecoins

IFT Puppet
Gpa is more important than EMS experience.

medicsb

Forum Asst. Chief
2 of my classmates have EMS degrees (BS in EM through UPitt). They were able to get all the pre-reqs done via electives. I'd avoid calculus and statistics. It's useless for medicine and the schools that require those classes are in the minority. Make sure you get a great gpa (>3.5).

WTEngel

M.Sc., OMS-I
Premium Member
The long answer is...no, a BS in EHS does not have ANYTHING that will meet pre requisites for medical school other than the core curriculum, which is contained in nearly every other degree.

But neither does a BA in history or any number of other liberal arts degrees, but students with those majors get into medical school every year.

The only reason a BS in EHS would have any of the pre-requisite coursework for medical school contained in it would be because you chose to add it as an elective.

The bottom line is you will need, at a minimum, a bachelors degree in SOMETHING, and then the pre-requisite coursework, as others have pointed out.

The pre-requisites vary by school, however, the typical pre-requisites common among nearly all medical schools are: