EMS Alabama

rescu

Forum Probie
Hi,

My wife and I are wanting to move to pensacola florida, however after looking at the 2 levels they offer is basic and paramedic and the very limited scope of a basic I'm having second thoughts. I currently live in indiana as an advanced.

I was looking at alabama and see the the scope is much broader and something I would enjoy to do, some towns in alabama not being very far from pensacola at all (30 mins or less).

How is the ems in alabama, fire based, hospital based or both? Also the pay range and are the nremt honoring or just state. Any input would help, thanks.

OP
OP
R

rescu

Forum Probie
I'm currently an emt advanced in indiana and planning to make a move close to mobile alabama soon. Just wanted to know a little about ems in bama.

They honor national registry, however the advanced in alabama has an increased scope compared to indiana. Will I take a bridge course or when I take the national will it include all those things. However even though I take a test and pass it dosen;t mean i will feel comfortable with performing the actual things on scene.

Also hows the pay and how is the ems based, in fire departments or hospital based, or maybe both.

Any other tips would be appreciated.

shfd739

Forum Deputy Chief
I'm currently an emt advanced in indiana and planning to make a move close to mobile alabama soon. Just wanted to know a little about ems in bama.

They honor national registry, however the advanced in alabama has an increased scope compared to indiana. Will I take a bridge course or when I take the national will it include all those things. However even though I take a test and pass it dosen;t mean i will feel comfortable with performing the actual things on scene.

Also hows the pay and how is the ems based, in fire departments or hospital based, or maybe both.

Didnt you post this in employment also?

emscrazy1

Forum Lieutenant