Education within EMS organizations (long post!)

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Hey all—

I know I am about to open up some sore wounds, what I am about to say is a bit controversial and I apologize, I just want to get this out onto the table.

A little background: I am an EMT-B (trained, but not yet certified as an EMT-I) who worked within EMS for some time before starting college. I currently work part time for a private ambulance company in a large urban area. The company I work for does little 911, and many dialysis, discharge and SNF transfers. The following rant and questions emanate from a discussion with a partner last week.

Within our specific company, a nice number of EMTs and Medics tend to have attained or be working towards higher levels of education-- just about all of our Medics have a BA/BS, and are working towards higher degrees, and many of our career EMTs are college graduates, and either cannot find work in their fields of study and have been with the company for a long time or are working towards jobs in other fields and use EMS as a stepping stone.

Many of our part time employees are college students-- more then glad to work nights and weekends for what is considered to be good wages for a college student.
Then we look at the managers and administrators of the company-- all very competent (although generally profit-minded rather then patient-care-minded, but that's a different story). One our of five of the supervisors has a college degree, one of the operations directors has a 2 or 3 year business school certificate, and neither of the owners have any higher education. Specifically, nobody in management (except, of course, for our ALS coordinators) is trained to the paramedic level.

What does this say about our company? About EMS in general? I harbor no hard feelings towards my superiors, and they are all excellent at their jobs. They all have decades of experience in EMS and know the business well.