Driving Record

will4993

Forum Ride Along
Im just getting started in my EMT-B training and i was wondering what impact your driving record has on finding an EMT job.

adamjh3

Forum Culinary Powerhouse
It depends on your specific situation. I have a speeding ticket with a point on my record, and I was able to find a job.

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
Well, if you have a minor speeding ticket (within 10 mph of speed limit), that is usually overlooked. However, some places like Rural/Metro Knoxville will not hire you if you have a ticket for > 15 over the posted speed limit.

If you have ever been convicted of driving under the influence, around here your application is usually shredded at that point. They also look at the number of speeding citations, etc over a short period of time.

OP
OP
W

will4993

Forum Ride Along
How many years do they go back? No speeding tickets in 6 years. No accidents. But i had 2 tickets for riding a motorcycle without the proper endorsements.

Last edited by a moderator:

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
I think after 3 years your driving record is clear again, don't quote me on that though. This does not mean that your entire record will clear after 3 years. This means that any infraction once it has become 3 years old will be removed from your driving record.

emtstudent04

Forum Lieutenant
Companies can go back as far as 10 years if they wanted to. It just all depends on the company. Some go back 3 years some go back 5 years. It just all depends. It might effect you getting on with a decent company, but you never know till you try.

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
Companies can go back as far as 10 years if they wanted to. It just all depends on the company. Some go back 3 years some go back 5 years. It just all depends. It might effect you getting on with a decent company, but you never know till you try.