decerebate posturing

anna

Forum Probie
so, weirdly, I was driving around town today and came up to some lights and things so I stopped and there were a couple of cops around this young woman, college student I guess, who was lying in the street. Seeing no ambulance around I parked and went over.

She had been shoplifting and got chased down by a store employee and pushed into traffic where she had acquired a head injury. I'm a nooob EMT and I work for a different company and I hadn't seen this type of injury before, but she was doing textbook decerebate posturing and was short of breath; Her pupils were fixed, dilated and she was quite unresponsive to anything. Anyway, the ambulance showed up and they kinda threw her on a gurney and didn't bother to stabilize her head, which proceeded to thrash around when she was secured to it.

I didn't think that was right, I'm almost sure that's not right, but at the same time I didn't feel qualified enough to say something about it..

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
so, weirdly, I was driving around town today and came up to some lights and things so I stopped and there were a couple of cops around this young woman, college student I guess, who was lying in the street. Seeing no ambulance around I parked and went over.

She had been shoplifting and got chased down by a store employee and pushed into traffic where she had acquired a head injury. I'm a nooob EMT and I work for a different company and I hadn't seen this type of injury before, but she was doing textbook decerebate posturing and was short of breath; Her pupils were fixed, dilated and she was quite unresponsive to anything. Anyway, the ambulance showed up and they kinda threw her on a gurney and didn't bother to stabilize her head, which proceeded to thrash around when she was secured to it.

I didn't think that was right, I'm almost sure that's not right, but at the same time I didn't feel qualified enough to say something about it..