Dealing with Back Pain while on the job?

wwelle

Forum Ride Along
We all get it and I want to know how you deal with it. What exercises and medicine do you take, therapy, etc...

My first post, but i have been an emt for 10 years, let it lapse after hurting my back and getting a desk job. Just finsihed my core 13 and prepping for NJ state exam.

Im looking to get it back and still have some back pain, no herniation but a minor slipped disk. Which is uncomfortable at times when bending forward.

i find crunches and squats really help and i am getting a series of epidurals to see if that helps...

how about you guys and gals?

Thanks!

bunkie

Forum Asst. Chief
We all get it and I want to know how you deal with it. What exercises and medicine do you take, therapy, etc...

My first post, but i have been an emt for 10 years, let it lapse after hurting my back and getting a desk job. Just finsihed my core 13 and prepping for NJ state exam.

Im looking to get it back and still have some back pain, no herniation but a minor slipped disk. Which is uncomfortable at times when bending forward.

i find crunches and squats really help and i am getting a series of epidurals to see if that helps...

Thanks!

Is it lower or upper back? I have upper back pain and have yet to find a cure. Mine was supposed to be caused by an injury from an epidural though. So I'm scratching my head on that one. Anywho.. I believe that building core muscles is supposed to strengthen the lower back.

Epi-do

I see dead people
I have a spinal misalignment and compressed disc at L5-S1. I have also been diagnosed with degenerative disc disease in that area of my back. There is one small spot on my back where if you put any sort of pressure on it, it is possible to bring me to my knees and instantly put me in tears. This is something I have been living with for close to 8 years.