CPAP w/o Pulmonary Edema

johnmedic

Forum Crew Member
Looking for some advice on CPAP outside of Pulm Edema, are there any indications that you folks use it for?

CPAP of course works wonders for pulmonary edema.. but what about patients with low tidal volumes? I'm a Medic student & have been told by most medics that by increasing PEEP you won't increase tidal volume enough to make it worth a hoot.. & I concur, intubation & bronchodilators are definitive treatment.

But today I just got questioned by a couple precepting medics on why I wouldn't consider CPAP, they advised me that the patient (expiratory wheezes, sats ~80, low tidal volume, Chronic Bronchitis w/o any pulm edema) would have benefitted by CPAP's ability to increase tidal volume if Duoneb treatment had been ineffective. (it was)

Thoughts? :)

BTW if this is a scenario question let me know & I'll move the thread.

usafmedic45

Forum Deputy Chief
would have benefitted by CPAP's ability to increase tidal volume if Duoneb treatment had been ineffective

It's not that cut and dry. Remember the problem with COPD is not an inability to inhale, it's an inability to exhale in most cases (since it's an obstructive and not restrictive respiratory disease, hence the "O" in it). In emphysema, it's due primarily to the loss of elastic recoil through tissue destruction. In asthma and chronic bronchitis, it's primary due to the loss of airway diameter associated with bronchospasm, bronchiolar wall inflammation and the accumulation of mucus. That's why when you see the lungs of one of these folks at autopsy, the lungs are classically hyperinflated. Clinically, this manifests itself as tachypnea with small tidal volumes, flattening of the diaphragmatic arches on a chest x-ray, and the increased anteroposterior diameter more commonly called a "barrel chest" in very chronic patients.