Charleston County EMS

CloudofBlack90

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys looking for some info/advice.

In the next year or so I plan on moving closer to coast, I'm in Columbia SC right now. I thinking Charleston County EMS right now, but I'm open to other counties. I've looked on there website and saw that they have a written test and even scenarios for you before they interview you.

As of right now I'm an EMT, but plan on going to medic school before I make my move.

So anyone have any clue as to what kind of scenarios/what the interview is like? I like to plan/prep ahead of time.

Also any info on the county itself. Ie benefits, salary, management, employees...etc..

Thanks

Daiawa

Forum Probie
As far as Charleston County is concerned...(we are currently hiring)

-Are fire and EMS separate systems? ( meaning can you just be a paramedic and not a firefighter)
Yes, we are a county based service, working with 14~ Fire departments
-Is EMS city employed or is it strictly private ambulance contracted to run 911?
County employed with state benefits
-What is the starting pay rang for Paramedics, more importantly, is it a livable wage for the area?
Base medic is $17.33 (41k~), crew chief bump is 18% with 3% raises at 1,3,5,7 years and merit based raises after. Livable, especially if you choose to live in one of the neighboring areas.
-Whats the call volume like?
Depends on the day/assignment. Could be 12 calls in 12 hours or none, average I would say is 6. Transport times can range from 1 hour to literally 1 minute.
- Do you enjoy the area?
Charleston speaks for itself, its especially good if you enjoy the water.
-Whats the hiring process like?
Written test, followed by peer interview.
-What are the shifts like? (12 hours? rotating? ect)
2 on 2 off, every other weekend is a 3 day either on or off. Pay week is based F-F
- Are you allowed to sit at a station till you get a call or do the assign you an area to post?