Capillary refill - not indicative of perfusion in adults, right?

rickd3x

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
I'm a student at the University of Miami and I recently joined the university's CERT team after realizing getting a job as an EMT in the city wasn't going to happen. I've debating whether or not to stay in the group, because I could pretty easily obtain a leadership role, but there are some pretty strange things we were taught in the basic training class (I still had to attend). The CERT lectures were created by Miami-Dade Fire Recuse/OEM so I was surprised to see cap refill as the only method of assessing perfusion in a patient (including adults) despite the fact that locations of major arteries were stressed so they could be used to help stop bleeding when direct pressure and elevation fails. I was taught that cap refill was only accurate in children, and even then, a distal pulse gives you a better idea of how well the patient is being perfused. I was also shocked to see their protocol for securing a patient to a backboard, securing the head before the body, which I think could possibly lead to c spine injury if the patient seizes or somehow gets violently moved before the upper body is secured. Just wanted to get some people's opinion on this...

Thanks!