asthma pt - what would you do?

g-emt

Forum Ride Along
Ok, so I am relatively new to being an emt and I had this call:

Arrive on scene... pt is on the floor, wheezing heavily... bystander says pt is having asthma attack... i give O2 with NRB, sit her up to help airway, and do a quick assesment... pulse in 90s, SpO2 94, RR upper 20s... no cardiac problems, and it is definetely an asthma attack according to pt...

I ask if she is prescribed an inhaler: she shakes her head no, bystander (older sibling) says she was sensitive to the med
I ask if she knows whether it was a steroid or albuterol inhaler that caused sensitivity: no
I decided to give albuterol anyways... her airway opened up and her O2 stats went back up... Later she was able to tell me she was allergic to steroids, but she still didnt know what gave her problems with the inhaler...

but i am worried, what if she was allergic to albuterol? i know hypersensitivity is a contraindication. Should i have given her the med knowing that she had a problem with previous inhalers, but not knowing if it was a steroid or albuterol inhaler she had a problem with? what would you have done?

Last edited by a moderator:

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
OK, you are new and asked for some armchair quarterbacking, so I will give it. Please bare in mind I am responding only to th einformation you have provided.

First, it says you "sat up the asthma patient to help with airway". Asthmatic patients are very rarely laying down or any other postion than sitting when they are truly in an attack. Remember the word "tripod" from class?

When an asthmatic is laying down, it is bad juju cause that means they are done, going to cease breathing pretty soon and I highly doubt one neb trmt would turn around a patient who has reached this point. They would not even be able to hold themselves up and actually recieve the treatment.