Arizona Paramedic Opportunities

NJmedic3250

Forum Crew Member
Hello everyone. I am looking at moving to the Maricopa County area in AZ at the end of the year. I am a paramedic with 7 years experience (2 ALS 5 BLS). Anyone have any suggestions or advice relating to jobs? Please get back to me. Thanks

Iceman26

Forum Crew Member
PMT Ambulance and Southwest Ambulance are the two agencies there. I'd apply to both, but I'd recommend Southwest slightly over PMT. The pay is a bit better and the company's run a bit better, but at the end of the day both kind of suck. Unless you're on a fire department, the whole EMS system in the Phoenix area isn't the greatest to work for but it's a job. Also, even with all your experience, because you're new to the company you'll still very,very likely be put on a General Transport/Interfacility ride. Both companies are pretty much constantly hiring, especially for medics.

OP
OP
NJmedic3250

NJmedic3250

Forum Crew Member
Thanks for the advice. I have been looking at both agencies and have heard of the stigmas that private ambulance companies carry. Are there any fixed wing aeromedical transport gigs out there?

AJ Hidell

Forum Deputy Chief
I have been looking at both agencies and have heard of the stigmas that private ambulance companies carry.
Do you want a job or not? There are very few choices anywhere in AZ. EMS there is even worse than California. Darn few states have that distinction.

Privates, hospital based, and even third services are always going to have "stigmas" as long as fire departments run the show, as they do in AZ.

Last edited by a moderator:

Iceman26

Forum Crew Member
OmniFlight is one, AeroCare is another, and there's also Native Air. They also use helicopters extensively there. There are more choppers in use per capita in Maricopa County than anywhere else in the country.