Any WI EMT's/Paramedics?

subliminal1284

Forum Lieutenant
If so I would like some advice. How is the EMS program in WI specifically the Kenosha area? I am not yet an EMT but plan on getting my EMT certification this year and was wondering how difficult it is to get hired as an EMT in this area and what the pay is like? I know the pay wont be much but enough to live off of would be nice. I am originally from the southwest FL area and I know the EMT's get paid half way decent there.

What advice would you have for me? This is something I want to do regardless of what the pay is like, If it is difficult to get a paying job in this area as an EMT I am sure the EMT certification would help me in getting a dispatcher position and I know they pay them decent, makes no sense to me why they pay them more than the people actually on the scene :wacko:

8jimi8

CFRN
its probably easier to fill a medic's spot than retraining dispatchers?

OP
OP
S

subliminal1284

Forum Lieutenant
Really? I wouldnt think so. Here you dont even need any schooling or certifications of any kind to be a dispatcher.

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Dont they require EMD certification? Training on E911? Background in EMS/Public Safety? Note dispatchers for private services are different from 911 center staff...

OP
OP
S

subliminal1284

Forum Lieutenant
I am talking about county/city dispatchers, In this area the only requirement to apply for a dispatcher position is a High School Diploma. I dont know if they give you the EMD training after you are hired or not. But a High School Diploma is their only requirement to apply for the position. The starting pay for a 911 dispatcher here is like $15.00 an hour.

Last edited by a moderator:

Mountain Res-Q

Forum Deputy Chief