another noob!

RCashRN

Forum Crew Member
Hey everybody! One scared RN here. I'm working towards challenging the NREMT-P tests, and I'm scared to death. I've been an ER nurse now for almost seven years, but it's still amazing to me how different our worlds are, even if they are so closely connected! I joined up here to gain some insight for testing (less than three weeks away for practicals, aaaaah!) and to learn as much as I possibly can. We never stop learning, right? My goal is to eventually become a flight nurse, and knowing most flight services (where I am, anyway) require their nurses to become paramedic certified within a year, I thought I'd go ahead and get it out of the way if I can, and hopefully pick up a part time job or two with local EMS services in the meantime - hit the trenches, if you will. What can I say, I'm a trauma junkie and y'all get to have all the fun with it before ya make it to me in the ER! I feel the need to join in!! Haha! Anyway, looking forward to posting here with everyone and learning as much as I can.

piranah

Forum Captain
well, welcome..I am actually doing the opposite...paramedic becoming a nurse lol..but the biggest thing really in my opinion to becoming a paramedic vs. nurse is remembering you are a paramedic and that it is on you to make the decision "5 min. ago"...as far as i have seen nurses that move to our sector seem to pick it up but it takes time and experience.Congrats on deciding to cross into the dark side lol...welcome...ooo and Im just curious what type of training did you have to go through to be able to test?

OP
OP
R

RCashRN

Forum Crew Member