Another Newbie

Deion25

Forum Ride Along
Whats up, Everyone!!

Just thought I'd introduce myself. I'm Deion and I've been interested in the EMS for quite some time now. My mom used to be a security guard in the ER at our local hospital, so growing up, I was in there alot. I remember watching paramedics bringing patients in the ER and thinking that would be a cool job. I would sometimes overhear my mom decribing what she had seen and some of the stories her paramedic friends told her (sometimes gruesome) to my dad after a long shift. After the initial shock of hearing these things over a period of time it became very interested. So, I planned on going to college for it right after I graduated but was discouraged becasue of the amount of money I could make in another field versus what I would make as a paramedic (young and dumb), So I decided to major in Computer Programming. I'm now working at Embarq (formally known as Sprint if you heard the latest news) and bored to death sitting in a cubicle all day.

This past spring, I discovered that I'm allergic to milk and had a very bad reaction to it (passed out in the restroom due to dehydration) and the paramedics were called to take me to the hospital. Needless to say, at 26 yrs old, that sparked my interest again. Recently, I've been doing alot of research on it, and talked with a few people in the field and my interest has really grown. I don't think I've ever been this excited about a job. So, we have a EMT school in town that being organized by and EMT-P from a local ambulance service and I'm on schedule to do a ride-along with this service next thursday. Just want to make sure that this is what I want to do, but I think my mind is already made up. Training for the EMT-B certification begins this September and will end in January. I plan attending this if everything goes well on the ride-along.