American Medical Response

DEurich

Forum Probie
What do you guys know about AMR?
Are they a good company to work for?
I've read some okay things about them and some not so good things about them. I'm a new EMT-B and I need experience. Would this be a good place to get experience from?

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
Completely varies area to area. We'd have to know what operation you're talking about to give you any valid information. AMR is huge and runs everything, including BLS IFT, CCT, and ALS 911 depending on what operation you're talking about. Pay, protocols, equipment, and management all vary as well.

All in all, the overall reputation is pretty good as far as privates go. Your paychecks won't bounce, the company won't fold beneath you, and they won't do anything shady to jeopardize your career. Beggars can't be choosers, and if you're new and hoping to get experience, I'd certainly consider AMR. Good luck!

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Yep. It goes from good management and morale, to crappy morale and management and everything in between

Ewok Jerky

PA-C
AMR's MO is to buy up local operations, give everyone new uniforms (including middle management), buy new rigs, and quietly collect a bit off the top as long as the operation is profitable. not a lot of corporate BS. That being said, one operation might be a tight-run ship with good staffing, happy employees, strong union, and supplies...while another might be a real poop-show where you get treated like a warm body with an EMT card. Some have 911/IFT, some are strictly IFT. Do your homework locallly.

BUT: AMR is a giant corporation with all the benefits that come along with it. Generally on the higher end of local pay scales, 401-k, benefits, ability to transfer (nationwide), and also they have a FEMA contract and probably local disaster coverage contracts.

As a new EMT I would take any* job I could, and AMR would probly be a good one.

*within reason

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll