American Medical Response

growinupfast

Forum Ride Along
Howdy all, been on this forum for awhile but never really did much posting till now. I recently was offered a job at American Medical Response (AMR) in Austin, Tx and was wondering if anybody else has working for this company at any time-if so what was your experience with this company? Benefits? Did they have continuing education? (Im an EMT-B by the way).

shfd739

Forum Deputy Chief
Austin will be mostly transfers and nursing home calls. Any emergency calls that meet criteria and are a legit emergency have to handed off the Austin Travis County.

Its a place to start but not somewhere Id want to stay long term. If you want to make EMS a career up in that area go to medic school then try to move over to Williamson County EMS, Austin Travis County or Acadian. Acadian had a large expansion/acquistion just north of Austin and now has some 911 areas.

OP
OP
G

growinupfast

Forum Ride Along
Well my problem is im in a position to where i cant afford school to be a paramedic, i have rent/bills and the whole 9 yards. My current job i work as a medical officer for a jail and while its different and you get to do things that normal emt's dont get to do, you get burnt out reeeeal quick and its just really not how i wanted to use my liscence. After doing the math im pretty sure ill make more at the jail than i would at AMR, but at the same time there isnt much room for promotion, or to further my education at the jail. Basically what im asking is that is there much room for promotion or for educational upgrades at AMR? My apartment to AMR is about 15-20 minutes, from my apartment to the jail is about 30-35. But im pretty sure id be taking a pay cut if i took the job at AMR.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
To be 100% honest, try to take out student loans or something and get your medic. If you want to make a career, such as it is, in EMS, you can't do it well as a basic

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member