Ahls

ah2388

Forum Lieutenant
Anyone been involved with this?

I'm a medic student considering taking the class, let me know if you all think this is viable for a medic student, I've heard its pretty advanced so I'm looking for personal experience.

HAZMAT Incidents - Medical Management

Advanced HAZMAT Life Support(AHLS) is the most comprehensive training program to provide the critical skills needed to treat victims exposed to toxic substances.
Whether from acts of terrorism, industrial accidents, or chemical spills on the country's interstate or railroad systems, the threat of life-threatening hazmat exposures is at an all time high.

www.ahls.org

-Adam

JPINFV

Gadfly
What, exactly, is EMS fetish with A_LS? Seriously, shouldn't something like AHLS really just be called "Hazmat continuing education." I wonder how many people would be getting associates degrees if the degree was marketed as "Advanced Education Life Support." AELS.

OP
OP
ah2388

ah2388

Forum Lieutenant
What, exactly, is EMS fetish with A_LS? Seriously, shouldn't something like AHLS really just be called "Hazmat continuing education." I wonder how many people would be getting associates degrees if the degree was marketed as "Advanced Education Life Support." AELS.

thanks for your input

Anyone taken the class that can provide additional insight?

VentMedic

Forum Chief
Advanced HAZMAT Life Support(AHLS) is the most comprehensive training program to provide the critical skills needed to treat victims exposed to toxic substances.
Whether from acts of terrorism, industrial accidents, or chemical spills on the country's interstate or railroad systems, the threat of life-threatening hazmat exposures is at an all time high.

I thought this was part of the Paramedic curriculum or at least a solid introducation and the rest presented by some of the mandatory Disaster and terrorism management continuing education courses for the patient care aspect.