AEMT, EMT 85 bridge up and reciprocity

AthensTech09

Forum Probie
Thanks for reading! I am an EMT-I 85, certified in Georgia and National Registry, good until 2013. I've renewed once.

Just moved to North Carolina. 85s DO NOT get to be EMT-I here, just 99s. NC says applying for reciprocity will result in only EMT-B...worthless!

So, I've had no luck finding a bridge to 99. Could really use some help.

Also, regarding the AEMT changes, perhaps a bridge to AEMT, but no luck finding one of those either. Really want to be able to work in NC but right now I'm stumped.

The local tech school near Asheville says no transfer credit would be awarded. I would have to take their entire EMT-I course. Way expensive, no thank you sir.

I'm a committed student, tried Paramedic school TWICE! I really don't want to stop this field of work but I feel like I'm getting left out in wind.

Thank you very much!

OP
OP
AthensTech09

AthensTech09

Forum Probie
What happened with paramedic school the first 2 times?

1st time - didn't pass the ACLS practicum exam
2nd time - ejected for failing to mesh and be professionaLwith the people hosting the clinical portion of the course, rather a long story actually. Any advice?

firetender

Community Leader Emeritus
rather a long story actually. Any advice?

No need to tell unless it's a brief synopsis of how your attitude then got you into the mess and what needs to shift now. Having been ejected from two paramedic courses does not stand as very good evidence that you get the work. To me, it sounds like you're looking for shortcuts since maybe you feel overqualified. Just a guess.

But transferring from system to system (often County to County!) you gotta deal with what you have to deal with and you're at a disadvantage based on the fine lines of their certification requirements. The state also has people to feed, thus the reason they want you to take it their way.