Wilderness EMS

ProjectCamaro

Forum Probie
I am having a difficult time finding the Wilderness EMS certification anywhere close to me. I live in Wisconsin halfway between Milwaukee and Chicago and cannot find anything close by. I've checked the big three schools and have searched both on the forums and online without success. If anyone has any ideas of where else I could look I'd love to hear it.

Don't know if it helps but I work full time as a police officer and late last year was selected to join our SWAT team. I am finishing up my EMT-B as we have a small team and there is no one that has any training other than CPR. Also at the end of May I'll be going through my Tactical EMS course.

Now I was just offered a part time job as a park ranger for the state and would like to take the opportunity to add my Wilderness Cert as the park I'll be working out of is quite large and EMS response time is always slow due to the distance to the local FD.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Red Cross offers "blended" classes where you take some material online and just come n to do practicum and test. No idea offhand if WFA (Wilderness First Aid) is part of that. I'll look into it.

Just to flog a dead horse…do you have protocols and medical control to act as anything above first aid on the job? Just askin'…

EDIT: call American Red Cross at 1-800-733-2767, use option 3 and ask about a class (is it available, and can you test out near you?).

Last edited by a moderator:

MrJones

Iconoclast
The Red Cross only offers Wilderness First Aid training (what he needs is either Wilderness First Responder or a WEMT bridge course), and it's not very highly regarded in the industry.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere