WEMT - International Job Prospects?

TTCHA77

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
Hello all, I recently completed my WEMT from WMI, passed my NREMT-B, and am looking for a job - just about anywhere in the world.

My dream would be (as soon as possible) to get involved in an international WEMT-type job. Traveling, international development and EMS are my passions, and I am looking to bring together those as best I can.

I have a masters in international relations, but no EMS experience (yet).

Does anyone have ANY advice, suggestions or thoughts of how I could find such a job?

Thanks in advance!
ttcha77

You should probably get your paramedic if you don't have it already before attempting to look for an international WEMS gig.

You should probably get your paramedic if you don't have it already before attempting to look for an international WEMS gig.

Yes Afflixion, thank you...not having my paramedic cert is definitely a roadblock I have found. Hmmm....I would love to have some WEMT/EMT-B experience before going for my -P....isn't that always the catch 22: experience from the job, but no job without experience.

Thanks for replying.

The real problem is that moat WEMS position in the U.S. are volunteer which a lot of employers do not consider "experience" so unless your working in the back of a truck or a hospital it will be hard to gain that experience, which then once again doesn't translate to WEMS...it's a cruel double edged sword.