Volunteering

danib77

Forum Probie
Reaction score
Good morning!
I am a new EMT-B and am volunteering at the squad that I did my student training. I had to have 12 calls documented during my precepting that I had patient contact, etc. Now I am volunteering and the day that I went for my orientation shift the medic on the crew wouldn't let me do anything, just watch. I told him that I did more than that when I was doing my precepting shifts and he looked at me like I had 3 heads.

I've done a few shifts since my orientation shift and it seems like unless I ride with the guys I did student shifts with they don't expect me to do anything except watch. I know that on ALS calls I understand not doing much but on BLS calls I should be able to handle it. Do I need to just give them time to get used to me being there or say something? I don't want to alienate anyone, especially because I am just starting out in EMS but I am not an 18 or 19 year old either.

Thanks!

As the new guy people need to get accustomed to your presence to begin with.

When I first joined my volunteer department I tried to spend a good deal of time hanging around the station. It's just a means of socializing and people getting to know you and feel comfortable with you and you them.

The other thing is, some people dont like to let others play in their sandbox. It may not particularly be you, it may be him.

Personally, as one of only a few medics in a department with about 12 AEMTs and 40 EMTs, I usually just grab the PCR and do paperwork and I don't step in unless necessary. If it is truly an ALS job, which 9/10 it isn't, I'm obviously going to get my hands dirty. The highest medical provider on scene should be delegating more than interveining if the circumstances permit.

Some people just like to micromanage and always have to be in charge of every last thing around them.

Welcome to the forums.

Last edited by a moderator: