Visiting the US

Michael Reuriks

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
Hi guys,

My name is Michael and I work as a paramedic student in Hamburg Germany. I'm going on a trip trough the US and would like to know if it is possible to visit EMS/Fire/Police stations on my trip. I'm really interested how things work in the us. May be you can give me some tips how to approach them.
I will visit NYC, Chicago, Las Vegas, Los Angeles and San Francisco on my trip.

Thanks in advance
Mike

Typically if you just show up at a station and introduce yourself, the crews will be willing to show you around and answer any questions you may have.

We actually had a foreign exchange student from Japan ride along for a few hours on one of my shifts a week or so ago so it's definitely doable. So if you call up our company and explain your situation you can probably get a ride along scheduled. We're one of only 4 private ambulance companies that run 911 response in LA County, otherwise it's all municipal fire based (we're actually contracted thru the County FD so it's still pretty much 100% fire based EMS here in Los Angeles as well as over in Las Vegas FYI).

For the fire departments, you can usually walk in and get a quick tour if they have time (not on calls or training drills or whatever)...usually best to call beforehand and bring a treat with you (ice cream is always a winner). I doubt you'd get a ride along that way, otherwise once again you can call the departments main number and request one.