Supplemental oxygen in relation to Spo2

bdoss2006

Forum Crew Member
First of all, I am a certified EMT, and have been for a few months. I was one of the top in my class, and passed national registry with just a few more than 70 questions, so I’m not stupid. I think I know a lot of the stuff I ask, but I just doubt myself. The main thing I’m wondering about now is what do you do as far as supplemental o2 when the spo2 and presentation don’t match? For example, if there spo2 is 98 but they say they are having difficulty breathing? Do you just assume it’s a psychological thing? I wouldn’t think so. At what point do you determine the pulse ox is incorrect? Or vise versa if they are not complaining of anything, and there spo2 is 82 with a good waveform? Then what?

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
Effective patient assessment requires a balance between objective/quantitative and subjective/qualitative elements. The degree to which you allow electronic devices to override intuition (or vice versa) involves risks that you can moderate through education and experience.

Consider patient care before widespread availability of pulse oximetry: What we saw, heard, and felt during hands-on exams offered experienced providers generally reliable impressions of O2 saturation -- accurate enough, at least, to set priorities during transport. The tools have changed but not the goals.

Accepting SpO2 values without regard for subjective impressions, or ignoring SpO2 values in favor of subjective impressions, could be dangerous. Use all the information you have and keep learning.

OP
OP
B

bdoss2006

Forum Crew Member
Effective patient assessment requires a balance between objective/quantitative and subjective/qualitative elements. The degree to which you allow electronic devices to override intuition (or vice versa) involves risks that you can moderate through education and experience.